Wheaton police are reminding residents to prepare for a new state law that kicks in next year which will ban the use of handheld cellphones while driving.
Police hope the early reminder will help motorists get into the habit now of complying with the new law, which takes effect Jan. 1, 2014. While the new law bars drivers from using handheld devices, it does not restrict the use of hands-free technology used in conjunction with handheld devices, according to a release posted on the city’s website.
Scofflaws face penalties of up to $75 for a first violation, and as much as $150 for subsequent violations. Three moving violations within a 12-month period can result in a driver’s Illinois license being suspended, the release states.
A 2010 Illinois law already prohibits cellphone or handheld device use in school zones.